American Association of Philosophy Teachers 15th Biennial International Workshop/Conference on Teaching Philosophy University of Toledo, Toledo, Ohio Board of Officers Meeting August 7, 2004

Board members in attendance: Daryl Close, President; Donna Engelmann, Vice President; Robert Timko, Treasurer; Betsy Decyk, Executive Director; Nancy Slonneger Hancock, Past Executive Director; Mimi Marinucci, Program Co-chair; Joe Givvin, Program Co-Chair; Steve Bickham, Chair, Policies and Procedures Committee; Tziporah Kasachkoff, Board Member at Large

Guests: John Wager, Webmaster; William Johnson; Nils Rahut

Close called the meeting to order at 12:30 PM.

Close referred to his memorandum to the board of officers in which he proposed changes to the board's operations (attached). He asked the board's support for memo item 7, which directs the Executive Director and the Director of Public Relations (a post created by the board in April 2003) to work together to coordinate publicity. The Director of Public Relations is not a staff person, but the chair of a committee which cooperates with the ED. The board suggested changing wording of memo item 7 from "coordinate all publicity of the Association, including mailings, the newsletter, and the AAPT website" to "coordinate all publicity of the organization, including mailings, and coordinating the sharing of information with the newsletter and the AAPT website," to include the role of the webmaster and newsletter editor. With this amendment, the motion passed unanimously.

The board discussed the appointment of a new Director of Public Relations. Daryl Close will approach Arnold Wilson to suggest that he remain as a member of the Speakers and Prizes committee. The Board needs to adopt a budget, in which the resources for the speakers committee should be determined in advance. Arnold Wilson now manages the organization's listsery which board members use as a primary channel of communications. It needs to be determined who is interested in managing the list after January 1, 2005. The board will continue to work on the description of the responsibilities of the Public Relations committee and solicit members and a chair for this committee.

Close called for a vote of confidence and gratitude to Executive Director Betsy Decyk for her hard work on behalf of the organization. Joe Givvin expressed thanks to Bill Johnson for his help with finalizing the program, and the entire board expressed thanks to Joe Givvin and Mimi Marinucci for a job well done as program chairs. Betsy Decyk's term as Executive Director ends October 2005, and Close recommended that the board invite Decyk to serve another term. The motion to renew the term of Decyk as ED passed unanimously.

Nancy Hancock raised the issue of the tenure of past Executive Directors on the board. Close clarified that the past president serves on the board only until the current president's term is ended, at which point she/he serves on the board as past president. Since the ED may take on another term, her/his service on the board is not limited.

Close proposed several announcements be made before the presidential address: 1) Bob Timko will suggest that key deposits be donated to the AAPT. He will mail a \$5 refund check for key deposit to anyone who requests it. 2) Joe Givvin has announcements about the program. The AAUP resolution on academic freedom and the amendment to allow graduate student members to run for organizational offices will be taken up at 5 PM business meeting.

Close adjourned the meeting at 1:10 PM.