AAPT Board Meeting Minutes Thursday July 29, 2010

The meeting was called to order by Nils Rauhut at 7:05 p.m.

Present:

Members of the Board:
Nils Rauhut - President
Donna Engelmann - Vice-President
Betsy Decyk - Executive Director
Joan Grassbaugh Forry - Treasurer
David Concepción - Member-at-large
Emily Esch - Member-at-large
Mimi Marinucci - Member-at-large
Nancy Slonneger Hancock - Past-President

John Wager - resigned President

Standing Committee Chairs:
Andrew Mills - Co-chair, Program
Paul Green - Co-chair, Program
Juli Eflin - Co-chair, Speakers and Awards
Stephen Schulman - Co Chair, Speakers and Awards

AAPT members: Bruce Suttle

Scott McElreath

Seth Holtzman

Jennifer McCrickerd

Chris Metivier

Dale Forseman

Cathal Woods

William Melanson

Karen Hornsby

Andrew Carpenter

MSP Approval of the agenda with additions of Service awards Discussion of goals for the organization

MSP Approval of Board Meeting Minutes - February 20, 2010

Announcement of New Executive Director:

Donna Engelmann will be the new executive director

Discussion to change of date of Executive Director's term:

MSP: Motion: to extend the current E.D.'s term to December 31, 2010 (Marinucci, Wager)

MSP: The new E. D.'s term will begin on January 1, 2011 and end September 30, 2015 with the understanding Betsy and Donna work together from now until December 31, 2010.

Report of the Teaching and Learning seminar:

20 people (or maybe 19)

Dave Concepción is the Seminar Leader,

Stephen Bloch-Schulman, Andy Carpenter, and Betsy Decyk are the facilitators the objective for the seminarians: how do they want their students to change and how will they know their students did change

Discussion of the resignation of the President:

If president resigns, does the person becomes past president or not?

Motion: that Nancy be Past-President until December 31, 2010. (withdrawn)

MSP: that the board interpret "resignation" as the person is no longer on the Board (Concepción, Forry)

Discussion: Does the Board want to have the past president term

2011-2012 vacant?

MSP: That this discussion be tabled to future meeting (Esch, Marinucci)

Teaching Fellows:

update:

Board has decided to award teaching fellowships

teaching fellows would serve for 2 years

AAPT would give each teaching fellow \$500.00

the teaching fellows expected to promote teaching and learning of philosophy the committee: president or e.d., chair of speakers &award committee or designee, a member-at large, and a teaching fellow.

MSP:	required	(on list)	a c.v. r	no longer t	han 2	pages,	focussed	on t	eaching	and
	learning	(Conce	oción, _)						

MSP: Agenda for General Business meeting

The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Betsy Newell Decyk, Executive Director/Secretary

These minutes were approved April 1, 2011.